My Foundation Journey

I’ve used a lot of different foundations. And when I say a lot, I mean it- I’ve been wearing it since middle school! I remember sneaking through my mom’s purse just to get to her Elizabeth Arden compact. I was mind-blown the day I discovered that I could somewhat cover up my dark circles with the stuff. My mom eventually allowed me to use her compact foundation, unaware that I had already stuck my grubby little hands in it. That sparked a passion for what is still one of my most treasured beauty items- foundation.

     I loved the way that the cream makeup made me feel when I applied it- luxurious and adult. But as much as I liked it, it wasn’t long before I wanted to try new things. I saw that my mom had a bottle of Covergirl Clean Foundation, and my fascination with liquid bases began.
     Spoiler alert: I still haven’t found the one.

You see, all the problems associated with finding a proper foundation are amplified when you’re a person of color. At the time, I was lucky to find a shade that went darker than a light “honey” color. It was a miracle if I could find a shade that matched my undertone without making me look like an angry Oompa-Loompa! Add to that the limitations of a fourteen year old’s budget, and I found that I was left with very few choices. I spent most of my teenage years wearing the wrong foundations- they were all either too dark, or had too much of a pink undertone, or they looked right in the morning but had slopped off my oily skin by afternoon.

Foundations I’ve used, arranged chronologically (left to right): Elizabeth Arden Flawless Finish Cream Makeup in Toasty Rose, Covergirl Clean Foundation in Tawny, Revlon Colorstay Foundation in Toast, Covergirl 3-in-1 in  Golden Tan, and Maybelline Fit Me Matte and Poreless in Soft Tan. Not pictured: at least four other foundations that I don’t own anymore.
     The base that I’m currently wearing is the Covergirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1. It’s nowhere near as bad as my first liquid foundation, but it certainly could be better. It’s still too orange for my olive toned skin. And if I don’t touch up with powder, I have some serious shine at the end of the day. But, it doesn’t break me out like others have (*cough* Revlon Colorstay *cough*).
     I’m very glad to see that makeup lines are slowly becoming more inclusive of people of color. There are so many more options now than there were just a few years ago. No longer do I have to go to a department store to find my skin color in a bottle. I can head to my local drugstore and buy L’oreal, Iman, or Black Radiance, all of which have good shade selections.
     Most recently I’ve been interested in the Maybelline Matte and Poreless foundation because I found a bottle of it in my mom’s cabinet. And I’ve been itching to get my hands on an Iman BB cream ever since I saw them at Target!
     So what have your foundation experiences been like? Have you found your holy grail? What do you struggle with the most- shade selection, formula, or something else? Let me know in the comments below!

 

5 thoughts on “My Foundation Journey

  1. I just bought Makeup Forever HD and I love it! If I have the money, I love Kat Von D Matte for a beautiful, thick matte finish. However, I usually don't like to use Kat Von D for everyday wear–just for some problem areas. Although, I usually have pretty decent luck when it comes to foundations because I am so light skinned with pink undertones. However, it is hard to find anything that is light enough to serve as a highlighter!

    Like

  2. I've heard that Rimmel has some good pinky shades for light skin! I've never used it so I can't attest to that claim. But I totally feel you about the contouring. I'm also lazy and sometimes I just accept my orange face lol. I think the color difference concern is more of an issue with darker skin, because my face has become considerably lighter than my body, but my friends with lighter skin don't have much of a difference.

    Like

  3. I struggle the most with color selection. I have pinky undertones and most foundations for my fair/ light skin have yellowish undertones. It's as if cosmetic companies make foundations with shade selections only for people with a bronzy tan. Contouring helps to match foundation to skin, but there isn't always time for that. I barely wear foundation because I'm afraid my face will be a different color from the rest of my body (and because I'm lazy, but whateva).

    Like

Leave a Reply

