Besame Cosmetics Lipstick Swatches+Review

besamecosmeticslipsticks2
Besame’s bullet tube lipstick packaging

I discovered Besame Cosmetics in 2014. Back then I was in my pinup girl phase, and I was on the hunt for the perfect red lipstick to complete my look. I didn’t like a lot of the red shades I had tried before because they seemed too garish for my skin tone.

In case you’ve never heard of Besame Cosmetics, they’re a company that makes reproductions of vintage makeup from the 1920s-1950s. They make rouges, powders, mascaras, and lipsticks. Their packaging is absolutely gorgeous!

besamecosmeticslipsticks1
Top to bottom: Besame Cosmetics Lipsticks in shades Carmine, Red Cherry, and Noir Red.

 

besamecosmeticslipsticks3
Carmine

 

besamecosmeticslipsticks4
Cherry Red

 

besamecosmeticslipsticks6
Noir Red– my current favorite!

I LOVE these lipsticks. Cherry Red is the perfect tone for olive skin. I wore it almost every day for about a year! I’m on my second tube now, and I’ll probably repurchase it in the future. Noir Red is my second most used. It’s much more dramatic than the shade Merlot (which I don’t own). I haven’t worn Carmine much, but I probably will during the summer. All of these shades are semi-matte and aren’t drying. They easily last through the day for me, including meals.

The shape of the actual lipstick itself can be strange if you’ve never used it. It has two sloping sides that meet at the center. That center edge is perfect for drawing on your cupid’s bow! The way I use it is by patting one of the flat sides onto my lips. I find that this works better than sweeping it.

The next shades I want to try are Dusty Rose and Chocolate Kiss. I’m not really interested in their other red shades.

Besame Cosmetics hits a sweet spot for me. Great formulas and glamorous packaging? I’m in tears just writing this.

Rating: 5/5

2 thoughts on “Besame Cosmetics Lipstick Swatches+Review

  1. (IDK if my comment went through??)
    YASSSSSSSS to Besame! I actually have Cherry Red, though I actually haven’t worn that yet. Red Velvet is, of course, one of my favourite reds because ~AGENT CARTER~~ and it’s just a great neutral red. I like using the pointy sides to get in the inner corners of my mouth, and if I had ~the big bucks~ I’d buy Merlot and Noir Red, since I gravitate more towards the darker reds!

    I CAN’T BELIEVE YOU ACTUALLY USED UP A LIPSTICK THOUGH. BUT TO BE FAIR, THE BULLETS ARE KINDA SMALL. AND I CAN IMAGINE ME USING UP RED VELVET, SO

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your comment went through!! I just had to approve it this one time. You know how spammy comment sections can get D: And yaaasss Red Velvet looks so nice!! I’m super picky about reds though so I’m probably going to stick with Cherry Red for life lol.
      And I can’t believe I used up a whole tube either!! I’ve only done that with one other lipstick :O

      Like

Leave a Reply

