Burt’s Bees Moisturizing Lipstick Review

burtsbeeslipstick 1

I was really excited to try out the Burt’s Bee’s lipsticks because I’m a huge fan of their products, particularly their lip balms. I bought these about two months ago around the time that I decided to switch to less-toxic makeup. I wanted to make the switch as quickly and conveniently as possible. At $8 each, the Burt’s Bees lipsticks were a relatively affordable and easily accessible option.

burtsbeeslipstick 3

These are the two shades that I’ve been wearing for the past two months! The stores nearest to me always had the other shades out of stock. I didn’t really mind because I tend to reach towards reds anyway. And to be honest, I don’t think I’ll be getting a natural shade any time soon.

burtsbeeslipstick 2
Left: Scarlet Soaked; Right: Ruby Ripple, or as I like to call it, the Clumpy Culprit

As you can see in the swatches, these lipsticks are extremely glossy, which means that they bleed outside my lip line on occasion. And I believe that the summer heat was too much for the formula to handle. When I opened up Ruby Ripple the other day, the lipstick had become really clumpy! At first I thought that the clumps were just my dead skin layered on the surface (gross, I know) but it seems that something in the formula has separated throughout the tube.

burtsbeeslipstick 6
My arm after I wiped off the swatches with just a plain old napkin. It all came off super easily!

In addition to all of this, the lipsticks are so easy to wipe off! Of course, you can’t really expect a glossy product to last forever on your lips, but I need there to be some semblance of color on my lips after a few hours.This could be a pro if you’re someone who hates having to use a heavy duty cleanser to take off makeup.

burtsbeeslipstick 5
Scarlet Soaked, a warm toned red

I absolutely love the way that the colors look on my lips. I’m a big fan of glossiness despite my ranting about the longevity of it. What I don’t like, however, is when lipsticks set into the lines of my lips. The photo above shows a fresh application on exfoliated lips, but I don’t exfoliate on a daily, or even weekly basis. So most days it goes like this:

10 AM: OOH DAMN look at that color! I look great!

11 AM: Okay, cool, kinda looks like I ate a cherry Popsicle and I dig it.

12 PM: Alright, time to head to lu- OMG my lips look like they’re chapped and bleeding!

And at that point, I resign to wiping off the lipstick that has accumulated in my fine lines and spend the rest of the day with bare lips.

burtsbeeslipstick 4
Ruby Ripple, a blue toned red and my favorite of the two

Maybe this lipstick will work for other people who have smooth lips and who don’t live in hell the tropics. The line has a lot of positives: super cute packaging, relatively inexpensive price, and 14 shades to choose from. While I will finish these two tubes, I definitely won’t repurchase them!

Love these lipsticks? Hate them? Want to recommend better ones? Let me know in the comments below!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

